This page has been archived.

White House (White House)

Headquartered in Washington, D.C.

| Official Web site

The Executive Office of the President -- the current official title of those entities reporting directly to the president of the United States -- was established under authority of the Reorganization Act of 1939 (5 U.S.C. 133-133r, 133t note) and various agencies were transferred to the Executive Office by the President's Reorganization Plans I and II of 1939 (5 U.S.C. app.), effective July 1, 1939. Executive Order 8248 of Sept. 8, 1939, established the divisions of the Executive Office and defined their functions. Subsequently, presidents have used Executive orders, reorganization plans and legislative initiatives to reorganize the Executive Office to make its composition compatible with the goals of their administrations.

Source: Adapted from U.S. government regulations, "U.S. Government Manual", and "An Overview of the U.S. Intelligence Community"
Learn more about our sourcing and methodology »
Top Secret Work
Number of Work Locations


Number of Contracting Clients


Types of Work (11)  
Types of Work
The Post has divided Top Secret work into ten categories. Companies' work for the government falls under the type(s) shown. For a detailed description of a category, click on the function or type it into one of our searches.
Talk to Us

Want to contribute to this ongoing project?